Is watching TV via the Internet for the mass or just a techies wet dream?

Am I the only one that doesn’t really watch TV on the Internet regularly? Yes, I do have a Joost account and start it up every once in a while. But there are a few problems inhibiting me to use it very often.

  • I find the quality is not as good as I would like it to be, watching TV that freezes up isn’t very compelling
  • To me there seems to be a lot of content available, but hardly anything worthwhile to watch. This is very personal obviously, maybe I am just not investing enough time to find something I really like. Or there might be too many channels with content that is really not that interesting to me. Perhaps here my default TV watching behavior is standing in the way of discovering new interesting content.
  • I don’t like watching TV on my computer. This is a cultural or behavioral issue. People tend to stick with a certain habit, unless there is a powerful driver that makes them want to invest in changing this default behavior. My computer is not sitting in the living room (although it could, its wireless). Watching TV via my PC monitor without having a comfortable chair just doesn’t do the trick. And, to me watching TV often has a social aspect to it. I rarely watch TV by myself. Usually my wife and/or the kids are there as well. I can’t imagine us watching my PC screen together. Maybe this might be overcome when my TV is connected to the Internet, but for now the (technological) barrier is too large to do that.

Maybe I’m just being a bit pessimistic about it? I don’t know, but I do know that it will take more added value before I will start watching television on the Internet more often.

What is your opinion on this? Have you found a way of changing your behavior making TV over the Internet part of your life?

About vanelsas

See my about page, https://vanelsas.wordpress.com/about/ ;-)
This entry was posted in Behavior, Internet, Joost, TV. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is watching TV via the Internet for the mass or just a techies wet dream?

  1. Philip says:

    Hi,

    I feel your disinterest to watching TV on your computer and reasoning. However, there will be a time when adding the Internet to your TV set at home becomes a worthwhile venture, whether free or paid. If you didn’t stay tuned to Satellite/Cable TV networks and other media companies, their BETA Internet TV/Video is already in the works.

    As an Internet TV on computer enthusiast for the past couple of years and a baby-boomer, I fall under an elite group of people that found a benefit–although broadband Internet TV is a wok in progress.

    How it benefits me and other people has more to do with mobile TV. Having a laptop with a broadband card or wireless connection enables me to watch any and all sporting events, missed TV episodes such as, Bones, CSI, 24, and catch up on a good movie while I’m on the go.

    It’s fits a certain lifestyle which makes Internet TV more intriguing to the young generation, ages 17 – 30s. However, more older adults are beginning to jump on the bandwagon. I downloade a PC Satellite TV sofware service/package that streamlines creating a computer Internet TV right on the spot with access up to 12,000 channels/stations Worldwide. The picture is either good or very good but the quality changes with higher and lower broadband Internet connection speeds.

Leave a Reply

